About Dora Ficher and Her Art

In the studio

A few things about me:

I live in center city Philadelphia on the 32nd floor of a high rise. I can see William Penn  from my window.

I’m inspired by the bold  and bright colors that you can see in the people, clothing, houses, and vegetation while walking around in my native Buenos Aires, Argentina.

I am currently enthralled with encaustic painting, but I reserve the right to change my interests next week. I’m sure you’ll be the first to know if you’re reading the blog.

I still return to Argentina from time to time. I don’t like to fly but I LOVE to travel so I buck up and fly anyway.

I crave artichokes, avocados, sushi and very dark chocolate.

I don a hat whenever I can find an excuse.

My favorite books at the moment are the Elena Ferrante series, My Brilliant Friend and the other 3 books that follow.

You might find me listening to Ottmar Liebert, Gipsy Kings or any kind of folk music, both Argentinean and American while I am working in my studio.

Some of my favorite movies are Annie Hall, Juno, Mama Mia, and the Bourne identity series.

Homeland and British Mystery series are among my favorite TV shows.

I enjoy visiting art galleries to see what my fellow artists are up to. I like listening to what they are doing and especially being around other artists. I never miss or let’s say almost never miss First Friday in Philadelphia.

I love to dance, which you might expect from a native Argentinian–home of the Tango.

I love to sing but am not very good at it so the shower is a great place to practice.

I worry about situations or things that usually never materialize so I’m teaching myself to let it go.

My wife is my best friend and soul mate.

My son is my hero. You might be wondering why? He is doing what I wish I would have done back in my 20’s but didn’t have the guts to do. Watching how Jonathan is doing gave me the courage to do it. He is following his dream.

I feel blessed to have what I have.

I am thankful for my friends, my family, and the new friends I find through this blog and online connections.